Skip To Main Content

Celebrating Academic Success

Celebrating Academic Success

As many of you know, late May at Kents Hill School mostly revolves around our seniors, with such events as the senior assembly, various brunches and receptions, and, of course, Graduation itself commanding the lion’s share of our time and attention. And that’s all great - our seniors have worked hard at their studies and extracurriculars, many of them for years at a time, and they deserve to be recognized and celebrated. But our Grades 9-11 students also contribute to Kents Hill through their scholarship, their academic and creative achievements, and their service to our community. To bring our academic year to a close we honored 22 students from our freshman, sophomore, and junior classes who have absolutely crushed it this year. Depending on the award, these students have earned astronomical grades, made significant contributions to particular academic disciplines, and exhibited a wise-beyond-their-years capacity for intellectual growth. 

Grade 9 Awards 

The Chrystal Chase Award is given to that freshman who combines a serious commitment to academics with enthusiastic involvement in all aspects of school life. It is awarded in memory of Crystal Chase, Class of 1899. The 2023 recipient of the Crystal Chase Award is Samantha H. '26.

The Warren E. Thamarus Award is presented annually to the freshman who, through their character, scholarship, and dedication, best exemplifies the educational philosophy of Mr. Thamarus: to do your best. The 2023 recipient of the Warren E. Thamarus Award is Gianni M. '26.

The Kents Hill Award for Academic Achievement is given to four ninth-grade students for educational commitment, growth, or improvement. The Grade 9 recipients of this award are Lucien G. '26, Stefani M. '26, Gavin R. '26, and Kristina T. '26. Congratulations!

Faculty Speaker

Dean of Faculty, Mrs. Katie Petrillo was the person hiring, training, and supporting new teachers this year. She did this while managing her own formidable teaching load and continuing to look for joy in the work. Ms. Petrillo was the faculty speaker and shared her perspective on the year and encouraged students to always challenge themselves in new ways. 

Grade 10 Awards

The Glenn Dana Award was established by the Class of 1974 in memory of their classmate, Glenn Alexander Dana. It is awarded to a student who demonstrates academic and athletic promise, respect for others, and a zest for life. The 2023 recipient is Laila B. '25.

The Stuart Payne Robinson Award is given to the student who accepts the moral and intellectual challenges of life without fear and gives of self whenever called. The 2023 recipient of the Stuart Payne Robinson Award is William P. '25.

We also give the Kents Hill Award for Academic Achievement to four sophomore students for their educational commitment, growth, or improvement. The four sophomore recipients of the Kents Hill Award for Academic Achievement are Ben S. '25, Theodore A. '25, Gina L. '25, and Delfin Y. '25.

Distinguished Scholars

Kents Hill School also honors several students with what we call Distinguished Scholars Awards. Each Distinguished Scholar is given to the student from his or her class who has the highest grade point average. Our 2023 Distinguished Scholars are: from the freshman class, Gwendolyn L. '26; from the sophomore class, Julietta C. '25 and Gina L. '25; and from the junior class, Morgan T. '24

Student Address 

Every year has its ups and downs for faculty and students alike, and there is no success story that doesn’t include obstacles, frustrations, and even failures. Sometimes, it even feels as though the world itself is conspiring to make things difficult by intruding on its problems and perpetual negativity. For many of us, this is why community is so important; it’s the people on our campus who not only make the journey worth it but who help us clear every hurdle and dodge every pitfall. Nicole A. '24 our student speaker observed, finding success, academic or otherwise, sometimes means finding your community first. Nicole spoke fervently about her experience as a black woman in Maine, and how her Kents Hill community was behind her on even her worst days. 

Grade 11 Awards

The Rensselaer Medal is given by Kents Hill’s Math and Science Departments and is awarded to a junior with an outstanding record in Math and Science. This year’s winner of the Rensselaer Medal is Gabrielle L. '24.

The Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award is presented to the junior who has demonstrated excellence in Science. The winner of the 2023 Bausch and Lomb Award is Tanner C. '24.

The Eric Nesler Plote Award is awarded to a junior in memory of Eric Plote, Class of 1989, who became a leader of this school community through his own determination, perseverance, and goodwill. This year’s Plote Award recipient is Abigail G.'24.

The Jennie Flood Kreger Award was established in 1937 by Jennie Flood Kreger. It nominates a junior who is outstanding in character and scholarship. The winner of the 2023 Jennie Flood Kreger Award is Gabrielle L.'24.

The William W. Dunn Award is given in memory of William W. Dunn, Headmaster of Kents Hill School from 1942 to 1965, whose lifelong interest was to develop in every student the desire to achieve his or her individual potential and to serve the community. This year’s winner is Tanner C. '24.

Historically, the Cameron Dow Class of 2012 Scholarship was awarded to a male boarding student rising into the 12th grade who, like Cameron, was quietly altruistic, a loyal and respected friend, had compassion for all living things and possessed an innate wisdom and courage beyond his years. Last year, the Kents Hill faculty revised this award by giving it to two students and by doing away with the gender-specific criteria. This year, we are continuing that new tradition. Our two recipients of the Cameron Dow Class of 2012 Scholarships are Norris A. '24 and Sarah M. R. '24.

The Phi Beta Kappa Award is awarded to a junior who is striving to go on to higher education and who has demonstrated intellectual curiosity and achievement beyond the classroom. The 2023 winner of the Phi Beta Kappa Award is Aidan H. '24.

College Book Awards

The Smith College Book Award is awarded to the young woman in the junior class who exemplifies academic achievement, leadership, and a concern for others. The 2023 winner of the Smith College Book Award is Sarah M. R. '24.

The Williams Book Award is given to a junior who has demonstrated intellectual leadership and has made a significant contribution to the extracurricular life of the school. The 2023 winner of the Williams Book Award is Nicole A. '24.

The Dartmouth College Award is awarded to the member of the junior class of outstanding personal character, intellectual promise, and exemplary citizenship. The 2023 recipient of the Dartmouth College Award is Norris A. '24.

The Yale Book Award is awarded to a member of the junior class of outstanding personal character and intellectual promise. The 2023 recipient of the Yale Book Award is Morgan T. '24.