Skip To Main Content

School Leadership

From the Head of School

I want to welcome and encourage you to explore our website to learn more about our amazing people, place, and program. I also wanted to share a little bit about what we believe, and what makes Kents Hill special.

We believe students are facing unprecedented challenges and an uncertain future.

The world is changing at a rapid pace and problems we thought students would face in their adult lives are here now. Students need to be prepared for anything.

We believe in belonging.  

Students are able to grow and thrive when they feel they belong. We meet students where they are so that they become the best version of themselves. Mistakes are treated educationally, not punitively. 

We believe students need trusted adults in their lives. 

Being a teenager is tricky and families need partners to help young people navigate challenges, make choices, and celebrate successes - and because learning never stops- even when we are on vacation - they need someone in their corner all the time. 

We believe education should be both local and global. 

Education should be place-based and experiential and to succeed students need to feel comfortable in a global community. We are proud to be grounded in Maine, connected to the world.

Most importantly, we believe in teenagers.

At Kents Hill, teenagers are so much more than a test score.

These core beliefs allow us to provide a transformative educational experience for our community. I can’t wait to meet you and share more. 


Chris P’22, P’24

Christopher S. Cheney
Head of School
Christopher S. Cheney, Head of School, Kents Hill School

Leadership Team

Chris Cheney

Chris Cheney

Head of School
B.A., Bowdoin College
M.Ed., Harvard University
Meg Bennett

Meg Bennett

Dean of Enrollment Management
Lara Cole

Lara Cole

Chief Advancement and Communications Officer
B.A., Northeastern University
M.S., Northeastern University
Rene Davis

Rene Davis

Associate Head of School
M.S., Bay Path University
Andy May

Andy May

Chief Financial Officer
B.S., Northeastern University
M.B.A., Northeastern University
Katie Petrillo

Katie Petrillo

Dean of Faculty, Math Teacher
B.A., Northeastern University
Ben Priest

Ben Priest

Dean of Academics, English Teacher
B.A., University of Maine
M.A., The State University of New York at Buffalo
Ph.D., The State University of New York at Buffalo

Board of Trustees


Patricia R. Hatler P'08

Vice President

Theodore B. Alfond '64

Second Vice President 

Mark S. Alcaide


Parker J. Beverage P'98/'00
Taylor Bodman P'08
Philip Boulton '93
Christopher S. Cheney P'22/'24 (Head of School) 
Catherine Eaton Coakley P'18
Nancy Colhoun
Luka Dow '13
Gordon H. Fay P'87
Debra Gesimondo
David A. Greene P'20
Kevin Haney '01
Josette Huntress
Julian Madison '16 (Young Alumni)
Steven Madison P'16
Camille McGadney P'23
Kyle McNulty '11
Shannon Morrison '96
Alane B. O’Connor '92
Richard O’Connor '64/P'92/GP'19
David Rhodes '69
Walter Washington '15

Honorary Life Trustees

Steven P. Akin P'03
Neil R. Austrian P'04
Frank A. Blethen
Kerry R. Courtice P'92
William G. Lindquist GP'01
Joanne Bass O’Connor '64/P'92/GP'19
Helen Shedd Reed '70
Nancy Russell '57